Whitewater-Packrafting training Tyrol 2018

Is Kaiserschmarrn a starter or main course?

We are dry again, helmets are dropped, our boats are lying next to our tents and it's starting to get dark slowly. On that friday evening a group of packrafters in good mood is sitting together after the first day of Advanced Wildwasser Packrafting Kurses in Tirol , pondering about Kaiserschmarrn. We will find a solution to this - and just order twice.

But first: Saftey training

But as announced, we are here not only for the Kaiserschmarrn. The participants already have been thorugh an intense day with packraft-specific safety training and some shifts in perspective. The world looks totally different depending on whether you are standing at the bank of the river and throwing a rescue line or the water is up to your neck whilst you are alternatively trying to pull yourself out of the water at that rope or you are brought to the bank of the river hanging behind someone else's packraft. On half a kilometer of this river with changing currents we are simulating more and more complex scenarios of rescue and safety until the evening.

Safety Training Whitewater Packrafting Tirol © Land Water Adventures

But why, actually, safety training?

Cut. We have been in on the river for a few hours already and just are getting back into our boats. Seen from the bridge the line to take in order to get safely through that big drop without capsizing is fastly explained. The same applies to the shaft shoulder into which you should not be moving transversally. A thrilling spot at River Lech. As a participant capsizes right in these waves it's the moment to practice our safety training. This will happen all over again and it's a pleasure for us as the guide team to watch experienced packrafters starting to take care of eachother as a group, making use of saftey techniques and therefore making our interference unnecessary until a certain point.

But of course we have not only been in the water at that day but most of the time on it. Besides those typical wavetrains of River Lech and that beautiful alpine panorama we focused on eddie-training, mastering flows and paddling safely in higher volume waters.

Whitewater Packrafting Course Tirol Lech © Land Water Adventures

This is important because often the weekend in Tyrol is the whitewater training for participants joining our expeditions. For example Marie and Joachim would, only a few weeks later, paddle a big glacial river with the skills they learned here from the Icelandic highlands into the south  .

Our Tyrol-anecdote: The whitewater unicorn

And, as often happens in our courses, tours and expeditions, fun was not falling short here. Did you for example ever catch a glimpse of a whitewater unicorn? No? We did neither until that day. But Moni brought her Peggy with her to Tyrol, a proud unicornlady from the Lower Rhine. She was allowed to have a taste of whitewater at the training spot from the first day, too, and could explore the currents as well as the panoramic view. Safely roped to Sebastian's boat of course.

Unicorn on whitewater © Land Water Adventures
And remember: When on moving water on a unicorn, also wear full safety equipment. ;-)

Sunshine at Isar Valley

On day three, to conclude our course, we are moving away from loads of water into a demanding jewel in Karwendel Valley. Everything that was learned within the last days has to be used now. Isar gorge rewards us with turquoise waters and a lot of sunshine.

Packrafting Whitewater Course Isar © Land Water Adventures

These were good days, also for us as a guide team, and not only for the sake of Konrad's big glas of Nutella.

Thanks to a fun, relaxed and motivated gang of long known but also new members of the LWA community that we accompanied through three days of advanced packingrafting. It's nice to see friends meet again this weekend and new outdoor communities emerge. See you at Kaiserschmarrn 2019.

Land Water Adventures Crew at Isar © Land Water Adventures

 

About the author:


Here's Sebastian, founder and initiator for a lot at LWA, especially for the emphasis on choclate. He is rarely on the way without it. Besides this he functions better in cool conditions and loves water best when it's rushing. There is more about Sebastian here.

One Reply to “Wildwasser-Packrafting-Kurs Tirol 2018”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wildwasser-Packrafting-Kurs Tirol 2018

Ist Kaiserscharrn Vorspeise oder Hauptgericht?

Wir sind wieder trocken, die Helme abgelegt, die Boote liegen neben unseren Zelten, draußen wird es dunkel. An einem Freitagabend im Lechtal sitzt eine gut gelaunte Runde von Packraftern zusammen und lässt den ersten Tag des Advanced Wildwasser Packrafting Kurses in Tirol ausklingen und sinniert über Kaiserschmarrn. Wir werden eine Lösung finden und einfach zweimal bestellen.

Aber zuerst: Sicherheitstraining

Wir sind jedoch, wie angekündigt, nicht nur für Kaiserschmarrn angereist. Die Teilnehmer haben schon einen intensiven Tag packraft-spezifisches Sicherheitstraining hinter sich mit einigen Perspektivenwechseln. Die Welt sieht anders aus, je nachdem ob man am Ufer steht und den Wurfsack wirft, oder einem das Wasser bis zum Hals steht, während man wahlweise versucht, sich an einer Leine aus dem Wasser zu ziehen oder am Boot eines anderen Packrafters hängend ans Ufer gebracht wird. Auf einem halben Flusskilometer mit wechselnd starker Strömung spielen wir immer komplexer werdende Rettungs- und Sicherzeitsszenarien durch bis es Abend wird.

Safety Training Whitewater Packrafting Tirol © Land Water Adventures

Warum eigentlich Sicherheitstraining?

Szenenwechsel. Wir sind schon mehrere Stunden auf dem Wasser und steigen gerade wieder in die Boote. Von der Brücke ist die Linie schnell erklärt, mit der man über den rauschenden Wellenkamm kommt ohne zu kentern. Aber auch die Wellenschulter, in die man nicht quer stellen sollte. Eine spannende Stelle am Lech. Und als eine Teilnehmerin in der Wellen kentert, ist Gelegenheit, das Sicherheitstraining anzuwenden. Das wird immer wieder vorkommen und es ist für uns als Guide-Team eine Freude mit anzusehen, wie erfahrene Packrafter durch das Training beginnen, als Gruppe aufeinander aufzupassen, Sicherheitstechniken gegenseitig anzuwenden und  so unser Eingreifen nicht immer nötig werden zu lassen.

Natürlich waren wir an diesem Tag auf dem Lech nicht nur im Wasser, sondern die meiste Zeit darauf – neben den Lech-typischen „wave-trains“ und dem wunderschönen Alpenpanorama hieß es Kehrwasser-Training bis zum Umfallen, Schwälle meistern und sicheres Paddeln in wuchtigem Wasser.

Whitewater Packrafting Course Tirol Lech © Land Water Adventures

Denn nicht selten ist das Tirol-Wochenende die Wildwasser-Vorbereitung von Teilnehmern unserer Expeditionen. Zum Beispiel würden sich Marie und Joachim  nur ein paar Wochen später mit den hier gelernten Skills auf einem großen Gletscherfluss aus den isländischen Highlands nach Süden  tragen lassen.

Unsere Tirol-Anekdote: Das Wildwasser-Einhorn

Wie so oft bei unseren Kursen, Touren und Expeditionen kommt aber auch hier der Spaß nicht zu kurz. Habt ihr zum Beispiel schon mal ein Wildwasser-Einhorn gesehen? Nicht? Nun, wir bis dato auch nicht. Moni hatte aber ihre Peggy mit nach Tirol gebracht, eine stolze Einhorndame vom Niederrhein. Auch sie durfte, an der Übungsstelle vom ersten Tag, einmal Wildwasser schnuppern und dabei die Strömungen und das Flusspanorama erkunden. Sicher angeseilt an Sebastians Packraft natürlich.

Unicorn on whitewater © Land Water Adventures
Auch auf einem Einhorn gilt im Wildwasser: Immer volle Sicherheitsausrüstung tragen 😉

Sonnenschein im Isartal

Am dritten Tag zum Abschluss zieht es uns weg von viel Wasser hin zu einem anspruchsvollen Kleinod im Karwendeltal. Alles Gelernte der letzten Tage kommt zur Anwendung und die Isarschlucht belohnt uns mit türkisfarbenem Wasser und viel Sonnenschein.

Packrafting Whitewater Course Isar © Land Water Adventures

Das waren auch für uns vom Guide-Team schöne Tage und das nicht nur dank Konrads riesigem Nutellaglas. 😉

Danke an eine lustige, entspannte und motivierte Gang von schon lange bekannten, aber auch neuen Mitgliedern der LWA-Community, die wir durch drei Tage fortgeschrittenes Packrafting begleiten durften. Schön zu sehen, wie sich an diesem Wochenende Freunde wiedersehen und neue Outdoor-Gemeinschaften entstehen. Wir sehen uns beim Kaiserschmarrn 2019.

Land Water Adventures Crew at Isar © Land Water Adventures

 

Über den Autor:


Hier schreibt Sebastian, Gründer und Ideengeber für vieles bei LWA, insbesondere den Fokus auf Schokolade. Ohne die ist er selten unterwegs. Außerdem funktioniert er am besten bei kühlem Wetter und mag Wasser am liebsten, wenn es rauscht. Mehr über Sebastian gibt’s hier.

Weiterlesen

Eine Antwort auf „Wildwasser-Packrafting-Kurs Tirol 2018“

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.